Spontaneously appearing characters?!

Posted: December 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yeh, it was kinda weird the other day when two characters suddenly just appeared. Usually characters are planned for introductions, but not these guys. Once the book is out and people have had a chance to read it, I will divulge who they were, but it was exceedingly odd for two completely new characters to just gatecrash like that. I have no idea what their story will be. They did give me a little backstory, but nothing overly substantial. We shall see! Stay tuned.

On another note, I hit 83,000 words today. By my reckoning I’m about 2/3 of the way through this first book and have just written what I think is one of the most exciting chapters I have ever conceived. Again, I can’t go into much detail, but boy is it tense. I am finding now that the words are flowing much more freely, even in the quiet chapters which I usually detest writing (give me ACTION!!!). Maybe it is a sign of my writing style maturing, or maybe it means that this book will be even better than my last, I have had one pre-proofer at least comment as such.

In some ways I just want to finish book 1, I think it is because this book, although complete in its own right, is more of an introduction to the universe of AR. There is a lot of back story planned to emerge over books two and three, which have largely been unwritten and unplanned. But I’m ok with that! This book has, from the beginning, been more about letting the characters evolve and establish themselves than it has about telling a story. Don’t get me wrong, there is a LOT of story in there, but it has been there to build relationships and form a foundation for the real story which will start to emerge.

I’m not at all worried about finishing book 1, as I know I have plenty left for my characters. I am a little worried about starting book 2, but that is a little way off yet. I will update you all again soon. Stay tuned.

Pete

 

Leave a Reply

